Background: When a 'Save Revision' is performed for a new Quark XML Author document to SharePoint, with initial version being 1.0(Major) or 0.1(Minor),the document version gets incremented to 1.1(Major) or 0.2(Minor).

Solution: This is as designed behavior of SharePoint. In Quark XML Author, 'Save Revision' is being treated as combined check-in and check-out operation, so therefore when we do a 'Save Revision' of a document, the document is checked-in(with its initial version) and then SharePoint increments the version of checked-out document (considering it being a draft version).

This is the default behavior of SharePoint and it treat every document in similar manner.